October 23rd 2004

rally logo WSSCC logo

There were 76 crews who set off from Newtown, including all the major players in the National Championship. Following the pre event formalities in Shrewsbury, they prepared to do battle over 9 special stages making up 75 miles of competition.

This year the Peugeot 206 Super Cup had joined the Mitsubishi Evo Challenge in the Bulldog as a single make championship. This was the last year that the Cup was to be run in house by Peugeot as for the following year it was to be franchised out.

Steve Perez had already been confirmed as Kumho National Gravel Rally Champion but this did nothing to dampen the competition.

It was Mark Perrott who won for the second time in two years. An unpresedented achievement on this rally. Steve Perez in his latest model Focus, was second Roger Duckworth third, with both and Andy Burton and Marcus Dodd retiring.

Rory Galligan and Jonty Bolsover were the first Evo home and thereby winning the overall Evo Challenge.

Stuart Jones beat Ieuan Rowlands in the Peugeot 206 Super Cup.

The 53 historics started the fifty five miles over seven stages from Sweet Lamb. The British Historic Rally Championship contenders made up the majority of the entry with the rally also counting as a round of HRCR's own Classic Challenge.

At the finish it was Richard Tuthill in his post-historic Porsche 911 who was the clear winner from Stig Blomquvist in his co-driver Ana Goni's Escort MKII.

In all 6 classics, 24 post-historics and 14 historics finished.

In the Clubman Rally starting from Dolgellau there were 49 starters and 37 finishers. It was Pete Beards and Guy Weaver who gave a rare win for organising club on its own event.

It was Tim Piercey in third place who won Kumho Clubmans Championship and free entry into all the next year's National Gravel Championship rallies.