October 18th 2003

rally logo WSSCC logo

Once again there were three rallies making up The Bulldog. This year there was an extra category in the Bulldog Historic as a result of the introduction of a Challenge for Classic Vehicles by the Historic Rally Car Register.

The formalities before the event took place as usual at The Albrighton Hall and the Livestock Market in Shrewsbury.

All three rallies started in Newtown with service in Sweet Lamb and Dolgellau. The Bulldog covered 75 competitive miles in 8 stages, the Historic 60 in 7 stages and the Clubmen did 48 miles in 6 stages.

This year's entry of 68 cars had fewer 4x4 turbo's and slightly more of the two wheel drive's but overall a similar number of entries as the previous year. This was with the help of the popular Mitsubishi Evo Challenge continuing to run under the ANCRO banner.

Leading the 49 finishers home it was finally winning The Bulldog was Mark Perrott, Roger Duckworth was second again, and Andy Burton came third. The next two wheel drive home was David Young in his Escort MKII in 19th place.

It was David Mann who picked his way to score enough points to win the Kumho National Championship at the end of the day.

In the Historics Richard Tuthill and co-driver Kevin Plunkett stormed away from the 56 starters to a commanding win by 1 minute 30 seconds from the Stokes’ brothers.There were 41 finishers. Steve Perez won the Historic Category in his Porsche and thereby adding the British Historic Champion to his previous ANCRO National Champion title.

In the clubmen there were two 4x4's at the top as James Harvey's Subaru beat Dennis Parry's Escort Cosworth. All the rest of the 41 starters an 29 finishers were two wheel drive's.