October 19th 1991

rally logo WSSCC logo

Big changes were afoot. Prior to the event Audi announced this year would not be supporting the event in the future. Shell Oils had already stated that 1991 would be the last year of its sponsorship of the Open Championship. So the last Audi Sport Rally was the last round of the last ever Open Championship.

The prevailing state of the Open Championship was indicated by the top ten, only three competitive big engine class, Group A, front runners led the field the remainder were Group N or smaller engined cars. There were only 63 entries nominated for the over 90 miles of stages.

In an attempt to balance the books the Club had, for the first time, elected to run a National rally behind the main event. The International had an entry fee of £395 and the National was £315 for 80 miles. Although the National attracted only eleven entries it was the start of an expedient that would keep many rallies viable in the future.

Heading the Internationals were Russell Brookes and Colin McRae were tied on points in the championship prior to this, the last round. There was however a 20year difference in their ages. Russell was in his Cosworth 4x4 which had been plagued with mechanical problem all season and Colin in the rapidly developing Subaru.

The third entry was a wild card with David Llewellin in a Nissan Sunny GTI-R. David had been doing the World Championship in the car without much success. His luck changed on this event as he lead from the first stage and in fact took fastest times on every stage.

Russell beat Colin on the day but lost the Championship as the Subaru driver had more first places.

As for the single makes Richard Burns beat Nick Elliott in the Peugeot 205's and Richard Foster won in the Nova's.

So an era ended and next year would be a step into the unknown for the event and the Championship.