October 22nd 1988

rally logo WSSCC logo

1988 was a good year, the entry numbers were up, the mileage was up and there were three former World Champions on the entry list.

Telford remained the base for the second year although the start of the event was moved to  Welshpool.  The super special stage in Telford Town Park had become established and drew in a huge crowd of spectators.

The Sierra Cosworth was the car of choice, there being five in the top ten. Stig Blomqvist and Mark Lovell in works examples, Russell Brookes in the Andrews car then Phil Collins and Trevor Smith. These, like all the cars in the top ten, were built to Group A specification.

The Securicor Autosport National Championship was up for graps and could be won by any of Ian Roberton (Nissan 240RS), Murray Greirson (Opel Kadett) or Trevor Smith (Sierra).

The Group N category of the Championship could go to one of Gwyndaf Evans, George Donaldson and Colin McRae all driving Sierras.

The event route was  12 stages of 85 miles in Dyfnant, Dyfi, Pantperthog and Pennal Forests

Even after all the forest miles the result hung in the balance to be decided on the two special stages round the Town Park in Telford.  

Finally it was Russell Brookes, seeded at number eight who emerged the winner by nearly two minutes from Stig.

Ian Roberton won the National Championship and George Donaldson, codriven by a young Andrew Kellitt, won the Championship Group N category.

Interesting in the overall results were Malcolm Wilson third in an Astra, Gwyndaf and Howard Davies fifth in a group N Sierra and Louise Aitkin Walker seventh in a Peugeot 205.

After the event it was announced that it had been observed for International status and had passed with flying colours!