March 14th / 15th 1964

rally logo WSSCC logo

The 64 'Star' again attracted all the top crews in the British National circus. Tony Fisher/Brian Melia, last year’s winners, entered in the debut for the new Vauxhall Viva though it was not to be a good night for them. Closely following Fisher away from the start at Chapel Ash were Dave Seigle-Morris in the new Ford works team Cortina GT, Reg Mcbride in an Anglia, Phil Simister in another Cortina GT, Dave Friswell/Richard Binns in a Cooper S, Bill Bengry in his Simca 1000 and Monte Carlo veteran Tiny Lewis in the Imp.
In total 158 cars started the run-out to the first control near Atcham.
The route wound its way south of Shrewsbury and the first problems of the night were encountered over the fog-bound whites at Lythbank where two of the top teams were out of the event within fifteen minutes of the start. The problem was a hidden tree stump which badly deranged the front wheels and suspension of the leading cars including Seigle-Morris and Simister.
After this bad start the cars followed the route through mid-Wales visiting 72 time controls in the 170 miles to the finish at Llandindrod Wells where the eventual winner emerged as Reg McBride/Don Barrow (of 'Romer' fame) in their Anglia, losing only a brilliant 8 minutes. Second placers Friswell and Binns who lost 13 minutes said that McBride’s performance in muddy and foggy conditions was nothing short of exceptional. Fisher/Melia would have secured second place but for the fail awarded due to making up time in the neutral section around petrol at Tregynon where he was hurrying to fix a loose steering wheel. His protest was not upheld and this mistake dropped him to 22nd in the ratings.

Chris Knights writing in WSSCC magazine DASHBOARD 2005