March 17th / 18th 1962

rally logo WSSCC logo

National rally entry lists were generally down this year but joint Clerks of the Course Harry Morgan and Richard Binns were pleased to announce that entries for the 'Star' were actually up slightly at 180 crews. The major change this year was that there was, for the first time, just a single starting point, our old favourite the Staffordshire Motor Tyre Company at Chapel Ash from where the first car was flagged away at 9.30pm.
The entry list was star-studded in view of the fact that this year's event was a qualifier for the RAC rally championship, for the BTRDA Gold Star, and for the Motoring News championship. Brian Harper, Pat Moss, Bill Bengry, Tom Gold, John Sprinzel, and David Seigle-Morris were all there.For perhaps the first time, formal PR work was undertaken, in advance of this being a blue book requirement, and Richard Binns commented "In every case we were given a warm welcome and a firm go-ahead".
From the start at Wolverhampton there was a run-out to Church Stoke where competitors were given a marked map showing all 52 time controls on the 150 mile competitive route taking in most of the high ground between there and Llandindrod Wells. Recent snowfalls were much in evidence along the higher sections.
The rally was cleaned by Pat Moss, much to the surprise of the organisers, and only a rare WA prevented Brian Harper from securing second place.
There was a very varied selection of cars out that night: the winner's Saab, many Mini-Coopers, a Healey 3000, DKW, Triumph Herald, TR3A, Anglias, Sprite, Simca and Rapier all figuring in the top fifteen overall.

Chris Knights writing in WSSCC magazine DASHBOARD 2005